Chair’s Message

As an entrepreneur and business owner for more than 30 years, I know the many contributions that small businesses make to communities of every size across our province. I also understand the many challenges they face. As a long-time member of the BC Chamber of Commerce network, I appreciate the work that Chambers of Commerce and Boards of Trade put in every single day and the benefits you deliver to your members and the value we collectively provide as a network.

This is a critical time for British Columbia’s small businesses. The cost of doing business, that includes increasing insurance costs, taxation and fees, regulatory issues, supply chain challenges, labour mobility and shortages, affordable housing and transportation, mental health, and diversity and inclusion are just some of the many issues that need to be addressed. The theme of our 2022 AGM and Conference was “Focusing Forward,” recognizing that as British Columbia emerges from the pandemic, we have reasons for optimism despite the challenges ahead.

As Chair, acting on behalf of our Board of Directors, my goal is to reaffirm the BC Chamber of Commerce as the bold, inclusive, and definitive voice for BC’s business community. To achieve that, much of my focus will be on listening to you and ensuring that we are responsive to your needs and delivering timely, effective value. I am committed to guiding the BC Chamber of Commerce forward in a way that ensures we are doing everything we can to help you and businesses in your communities prosper and grow.

Delivering member value will require us to find better ways to serve you. Having a bold voice moving forward means speaking up and speaking out on issues of importance to business and advocating effectively. Importantly, it also means recognizing that our members of all sizes and from all regions have issues of importance to them. By working together, challenging the status quo, being innovative and being open to new ideas and perspectives, we can achieve a great deal and make our organizations and this beautiful province even better.

I am excited about the year ahead. I know all of us at the BC Chamber of Commerce, and within our network, are up to the job.

Dr. Greg Thomas
2022-23 Chair, Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Dr. Greg Thomas

G3 Consulting Ltd.

Julie Ziebart

Vice Chair

Joelle Westlund

Immediate Past Chair
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority

Andrew Czornohalan

Rio Tinto
Northwest B.C.

Michaela Bjorseth

Northeast B.C.

Cindi Pohl

Goferbroke Investments Inc.
Central B.C.

Korah DeWalt-Gagnon

New Gold Inc.

Tanya Finley

Finley’s Bar and Grill and Sage Tapas and Wine Bar

Melinda Friesen

Clearbrook Grain & Milling Co. Ltd
Lower Mainland/SouthWest

Arlene Rolston

Port of Nanaimo
Vancouver Island/Gulf Islands

Chris Callanan

North Island Employment
Vancouver Island/Gulf Islands

Katy Player

Lower Mainland

Don Matthew

Chair, Audit Committee

Advisors and Representatives

Layne Hellrung

Legal Advisor
Cassels Brock LLP

Pete Bourke

BCCE Representative
Columbia Valley Chamber of Commerce
  • Governors

    All past Chairs become Governors of the Chamber after serving as a Chair.
    2019 - 2020 Kristine Simpson Vancouver
    2018 - 2019 Karen Hawes Kelowna
    2016 - 2017 Patrick Giesbrecht Abbotsford
    2014 - 2015 Brant Hasanen Kamloops
    2013 - 2014 Jim Belsheim North Vancouver
    2012 - 2013 Maureen Kirkbride Vancouver
    2011 - 2012 John Turner Ft. St. John
    2010 - 2011 Mike Watson North Vancouver
    2009 - 2010 David Bodnar Surrey
    2008 - 2009 Justin Rigsby Campbell River
    2007 - 2008 Daren Hancott Burnaby
    2006 - 2007 Rob Wickson Victoria
    2005 - 2006 Mike Bradshaw Maple Ridge
    2004 - 2005 Gerry Martin Terrace
    2003 - 2004 Steve Thomson Kelowna
    2002 - 2003 Brenda Plowman Vancouver
    2001 - 2002 Doug Smith North Vancouver
    2000 - 2001 Archie Novakowski Delta
    1999 - 2000 Laurie Kerr Prince George
    1998 - 1999 Al McNair Kamloops
    1997 - 1998 Naomi Yamamoto N. Vancouver
    1996 - 1997 Darrel Smith Richmond
    1995 - 1996 Jim Thompson Vancouver
    1994 - 1995 Terry Farmer Victoria
    1993 - 1994 Dean Cooper Kelowna
    1992 - 1993 Ian MacLeod Vancouver
    1991 - 1992 David Reid Richmond
    1990 - 1991 Stuart Lang Cranbrook
    1989 - 1990 Leslie Abramson Delta
    1988 - 1989 TB Prentice Burnaby
    1987 - 1988 Colin Smith Victoria
    1986 - 1987 LK Lacey
    1985 - 1986 AJ Boersma Fernie
    1984 - 1985 JR Oberhoffner New Westminster
    1983 - 1984 GE Frederick Summerland
    1982 - 1983 Norm McLaren Campbell River
    1981 - 1982 RJ Hallam Langley
    1980 - 1981 RK Wood West Vancouver
    1979 - 1980 RA Petrick Dawson Creek
    1978 - 1979 JB Greenwood North Vancouver
    1977 - 1978 Elido Salvador Creston
    1976 - 1977 WD Stothert Vancouver
    1975 - 1976 BA Price Burnaby
    1974 - 1975 JC Broatch Vancouver
    1973 - 1974 Frank Beinder Comox
    1972 - 1973 DAL Tait Vancouver
    1971 - 1972 CW Laver Courtenay
    1970 - 1971 NS McKenchnie Vancouver
    1969 - 1970 EG Stroyan Nanaimo
    1968 - 1969 Edward Benson Vancouver