Aleece Laird

Chair’s Message

As a small business owner of a communications and stakeholder engagement firm, I know a theme can provide focus and purpose. The theme of our 2020 AGM & Conference was Unity and Community which I believe are going to get us through restarting and rebuilding our businesses, our Chambers of Commerce, our Boards of Trade, and our economy.

As community and business leaders, let’s challenge ourselves to create a new pathway to the new normal, one that allows us to find unity in our community. How we work together now will determine how we emerge on the other side of this crisis. To emerge stronger, we believe unity and community are imperative.

Our member Chambers of Commerce and Boards of Trade have this unparalleled collective ability to move proverbial mountains when it comes to advocacy work, policy development to make significant change for businesses, and providing value for members. When we find unity in this community, things over the next few weeks, months, and possibly years will be challenging, but if we support one another we will emerge stronger in the new normal of business in BC and beyond.

Please remember this: collaboration is in our DNA. When we embrace unity, our collective community will emerge stronger. You are the DNA that is the BC Chamber of Commerce, and we simply can’t do what we do without you. Show compassion, show leadership, and show up! We’ve got this, together.

Aleece Laird

BC Chamber of Commerce Board Chair

Board of Directors

Aleece Laird

Board Chair
Amplify Consulting Inc.
Okanagan Shuswap

Joelle Westlund

Teck Resources
Lower Mainland

Kristine Simpson

Immediate Past Chair
BDO Chartered Accountants
Lower Mainland

Nick Marach

Director, Audit Committee Chair
Lower Mainland

Tanya Finley

Finley’s Bar and Grill and Sage Tapas and Wine Bar

Don Sharpe

Canada West Ski Areas Association
Lower Mainland

Reshma Mehta

TELUS Communications
Lower Mainland

Al Hasham

Maximum Express Courier, Freight & Logistics
Vancouver Island

Cindi Pohl

Goferbroke Investments Inc.
Central B.C.

Michaela Bjorseth

Northeast B.C.

Dr. Greg Thomas

G3 Consulting Ltd.
Lower Mainland

Arlene Rolston

Port of Nanaimo
Vancouver Island

Tracey Arnish

Coast Capital Savings
Lower Mainland

Andrew Czornoholan

Rio Tinto


Layne Hellrung

Legal Advisor
Cassels Brock LLP

Kim Smythe

BCCE Representative
Greater Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce
  • Governors

    All past Chairs become Governors of the Chamber after serving as a Chair.
    1985 - 1986 AJ Boersma Fernie
    1998 - 1999 Al McNair Kamloops
    2000 - 2001 Archie Novakowski Delta
    1975 - 1976 BA Price Burnaby
    2014 - 2015 Brant Hasanen Kamloops
    2002 - 2003 Brenda Plowman Vancouver
    1951 - 1952 Charles Wright Trail
    1987 - 1988 Colin Smith Victoria
    1971 - 1972 CW Laver Courtenay
    1972 - 1973 DAL Tait Vancouver
    2007 - 2008 Daren Hancott Burnaby
    1996 - 1997 Darrel Smith Richmond
    2009 - 2010 David Bodnar Surrey
    1991 - 1992 David Reid Richmond
    1993 - 1994 Dean Cooper Kelowna
    2001 - 2002 Doug Smith North Vancouver
    1961 - 1962 ED Forward Kitimat
    1968 - 1969 Edward Benson Vancouver
    1969 - 1970 EG Stroyan Nanaimo
    1966 - 1967 EL Harrison Vancouver